Firmino Named 2018 Samba d’Or Winner ahead of Neymar and Marcelo

Firmino win 2018 Samba d'Or ahead of Neymar and Marcelo

Liverpool forward Roberto Firmino has been named as the winner of the 2018 Samba Gold Award.  The Samba Gold (Samba d’Or) is a football award given to the best Brazilian footballer in Europe, as awarded by Sambafoot Company. The award started in 2008 with Kaka winning the inaugural award. The Samba d’Or is determined by three voter panels: journalist, fellow footballers and votes from online polls.

Roberto Firmino topped the overall poll with 21.79 per cent of the vote, ahead of  Real Madrid’s Marcelo 20.51 per cent and third placed Neymar 18.67 per cent.

Firmino win 2018 Samba d'Or ahead of Neymar and Marcelo

The award shows how incredible Firmino was in the past year; he had lots of fantastic moment on and off the pitch. Firmino also become the top Brazilian scorer in the history of premier league after netting three goals in the 5-1 win against arsenal.

Firmino has found the back of the net 43 times in the top level of the English football league system. This placed him ahead of former Liverpool star Philippe Coutinho, who used to hold the record with 41 goals scored.  

Capping a remarkable year full of record breaking achievements, Bobby became the third Brazilian to score a hat-trick of goals in the Premier League.

Firmino win 2018 Samba d'Or ahead of Neymar and Marcelo

In a recent interview, Firmino revealed the impact of Liverpool coach, Jurgen Klopp in bringing out the best in him. “We’ve learned so much from him since he arrived and we’ve only got better. He is what you see in public: the passion, the father figure”.

The 27 year-old striker also describe how it feels to play under the German coach and the atmosphere in the Liverpool squad. “Playing for him is a really joyful experience” Firmino told the club official website “I love it, as do the rest of the team”.

Samba d’Or Winners by Years

2008    –           Ricardo Kaka

2009    –           Luis Fabiano

2010    –           Maicon

2011    –           Thiago Silva

2012    –           Thiago Silva

2013    –           Thiago Silva

2014    –           Neymar

 2015   –           Neymar

2016    –           Philippe Coutinho

2017    –           Neymar

2018    –           Roberto Firmino

The Author

Oludare Enny

1 Comment

Add a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *